Pastel Painters Society of Cape Cod

FPO 2018 Awards

Best of Show - Surfacing

Award of Excellence - Autumnal Harvest

Award of Honor - Mandella

The PPSCC Members Only Online Exhibition for 2018

The Members Only Exhibition is onilne now! It will be available until January 15, 2019.  You can see the wonderful work from our members here.


"For Pastels Only on Cape Cod" 2018

Sunday, July 15th, wrapped up the 2018 FPO exhibit with rave reviews and eight sales! Artists picked up artwork as award-winning artists Susan Ellis demonstrated her technique. Impressive!


Above:  Susan Ellis and her demo at FPO Wrap up.


This annual event draws collectors and visitors to the Cultural Center of Cape Cod in South Yarmouth for the Opening Reception and throughout the 3 week exhibition from June 20 to July 15, 2018.  The opening reception and awards took place on Saturday, June 23, 2018 from 6:00 - 9:00pm.

In 2017, one out of every 10 paintings sold and over 300 guests attended the opening reception.

Juror of Selections, Karen Israel PSA-MP, IAPS/MC; Juror of Awards, Margaret Dyer PSA-MP, IAPS/MC.

For Pastels Only 2018 Awards List

To see the full set of images click here.

Best in Show:  Corey Pitkin “Surfacing”
Award of Excellence:  Susan Ellis “Autumnal Harvest”
Award of Honor:  William Schneider “Mandella”
Royal Talens Award:  Laurinda O’Connor “Lighting the Way”
Great American Art Works Award:  Mary Tennaro “Breaking thru the Snow”
Terry Ludwig Pastels Award: Eileen Casey “Time for Reflection”
Pastel Society of North Carolina Award:  Sheryll Reichelt “Nature’s Requitae!”
Ampersand Art Supply Award:  Jeanne Tagney “Reverie”
South Cape Artists, The Joan A. Ledwith Memorial Award: Kim Morin Weineck, “Winter Sunlight”                                                            
Liz Haywood-Sullivan Award: Shuk Susan Lee “Victoria Harbour”
Jack Richeson & Co. Award: Barbara Bemis Adams “Fresh Air”
Dakota Art Supply Award:  Diane Sawyer “ElectriCITY”
Connecticut Pastel Society Award:  Maureen Spinale “Evening Glow”
Piedmont Pastel Society Award:  Wendy McClatchy “La Serviette Bleue”
Airfloat Systems Award:  Jeanne Rosier Smith “Sunday on the River”
Jack Richeson & Co. Award:  Linda Armstrong “Twilight”
Rosalie Nadeau Award “Light Is The Subject”: Kurt Weiser “Portrait of Betula”
Pastel Society of New Hampshire Award:  Christine Bodnar “Cape Dunes”
Pastel Painters of Maine Award:  Grace DiMauro “Moody Blues”
Vermont Pastel Society Award: Janet Schwartz “Stripes”
Chicago Pastel Painters Award: Rosalie Nadeau “Red & White”
Pastel Society of America Award: Jeff Ventola “Kaleidoscope”
Jack Richeson & Co. Award: Eve Miller “Russ Point Revisited”
Diane Townsend Award: Thomas Bailey “Ochre Pond”

Call for Artists -- International Exhibition of Works on Paper

The Philadelphia Water Color Society has issued a call to artists for it's 118th Anniversary International Exhibition of Works on Paper to be held October 14 - November 24, 2018 at the Wayne Art Center, Wayne, PA. Juror of Selection: Alan Wylie, Judge of Awards: Alvaro Castagnet. Workshop Alvaro Castagnet. More than $8000 in awards, including $1500 Best in Show. Media to include watercolor, acrylic, pastel, gouache, pen & ink, graphite, colored pencil and hand pulled prints. Online entry. Prospectus, submission information and workshop info at

Inaugural PPSCC Members

ONLINE Exhibition

October 1 -  December 15, 2017

You can see our first online members show here. 

Awards were presented at the PPSCC Annual Meeting on October 14, 2017.

2017 Award Winners:

Best of Show: “Where Fur Belongs”, Tamara Oppel

An exceptional piece, masterfully handled with sensitivity & confidence. Wonderful use of space & brought to life by its exquisite textures.

First Place: “Berries in Glass”,Jeri Greenberg

Gorgeous use of light & shadow...reminiscent of the old masters.

Second Place: “Clammer’s Bag & Bucket”, Susan Ellis

The strong composition & delicate handling of the light made this piece a stand out.

Third Place: “Red Light Green Light”, Janet Schwartz

The distortion of the scene through the rain covered windshield adds a wonderful energy to the piece.

Honorable Mention: “Morning Glory”, Karole Nicholson

The quiet beauty of this piece is strengthened by the subtle cools in the distance & by the rich warm tones of the focal point.

Honorable Mention: “Seaside Pine”, Eileen Casey

Strong design elements enhanced by the bold use of compliments.

"For Pastels Only on Cape Cod, 2017"

The exhibition was held June 20 to July 16, 2017 at the Cultural Center of Cape Cod, 307 Old Main Street in South Yarmouth , MA. 

Check out this discussion of this year's "For Pastels Only" on local cable television here.

For Pastels Only 2017 Awards List

Best In Show: Lana Ballot - Until Tomorrow

Award of Excellence: Maureen Spinale - Joy Peace and Hope

Award of Honor: Rosalie Nadeau - Profusion

Great American Art Works Award: Terri Brooks - The Big Tube

Joan A. Ledwith Memorial Award for Landscape: Tom Bailey - Back Pond

Ampersand Art Supply Award: William Schneider - Jillian

Liz Haywood-Sullivan Juror's Award: Michele Poirier Mozzone - Alliance II

Terry Ludwig Pastels Award: Rita Kirkman - Golden

Terry Ludwig Pastels Award: Christine Ivers - All in a Row

Airfloat Award: Laurinda O'Connor - Last Light

Piedmont Pastel Society Award: Mary Jean Davis - A Stitch in Time

Connecticut Pastel Society, Inc. Award: Jean Rosier Smith - Backyard Beauty

Dakota Art Pastels Award: Cindy Crimmin - Grateful for Small Favors

Pastel Society of North Carolina Award: Maxine Raymond - The Scrabble Corner

Pastel Society of America Award: Sandra Marucci Weisenhoff - Garden Peonies

Vermont Pastel Society Award: Betsy Payne Cook - Dancing in the Shallows

Pastel Painters Society of Maine Award: Susan Hollis - Sun Tipped

Pastel Society of New Hampshire Award: Kate Berquist - Standing Together

Rosalie Nadeau Award for Excellent Use of Color as Light: Edward Kennedy - Cedars in Shadow

Diane Townsend Award: Jane Penfield - Chicago Bridges

Royal Talens Award: Barbara Bemis Adams - Bee Keepers

UART Award: Joyce Kahn - Everyman

Pastel Journal Award: Edith Cohenno Bryant - Chama

Pastel Journal Award: Sandra Kavanaugh - Crashing